Monday, June 25, 2012

2010 - 2012 CTI Competition Awards

At the recent MSK Summer Expo at Granby Ranch, a special awards presentation took place during the Saturday Expo Evening Banquet.  The top award, the 2010 - 2012 Lee H. Park Award, was presented to Alice Meyung by President of Moo Sul Kwan and the AMASEA, Grandmaster Charles Hildebrand, 8th dan.

Miss Meyung is a 4th dan black belt and instructor at the Green Mountain and Conifer Campuses of the Colorado Taekwondo Institute.  Miss Meyung began training at five years old and has been working hard ever since!  Graduate of Colorado College, Miss Meyung is a member of the CTI Black Belt Team that recently traveled to Germany and Austria in 2011.  A lead member of the CTI Demo Team, Miss Meyung is the recipient of the Lee H. Park Award for her outstanding dedication to the students and instructors of the CTI.

Also that evening, the 2010 - 2012 CTI Competiton Awards were presented.  Competition has always been a part of our training.  Competition plays a vital role in creating our well-rounded MSK person.  There’s the physical, mental and emotional preparations that take place for the competitor.  This can be divided into hours, days, months, years and longer.  There’s the “night before the competition" feelings that tie stomachs into knots and make sleep a restless endeavor .  There’s the “morning of” and the feelings of exhilaration and power when warming up to step into the ring.  There’s that feeling of “pure reflex” when the competition begins that you can’t explain to anyone unless you've done it.  Competition brings our students and instructors to other levels that seem almost magical, but of course we know that the benefits of competing are just the result of long hard work and the willingness to compete in the first place.  Congratulations to everyone who took part in our CTI events for the last two years.  The expertise and sportsmanship were incredible!  Here are this year's winners:

Miss Meyung at Camp MSK


Black Belt - Freddy Sautel
Adult - Jennifer McKernan
Junior - Caleb Feagans


Black Belt - Clayton Garner
Adult - Terry Copper
Junior - Erik Ondrejko

First Point Wins!

Black Belt - Abdu Kikhia
Adult - Don Johnson
Junior - Thomas Ma


Black Belt - Thomas Sautel
Men - Rob Sarche
Women - Vivi Brown
Junior - Gabe Gallegos

Staff Poomse

Adult - Freddy Sautel
Junior - Rosie Sokolove

Overall Tournament Champion

Adult - Freddy Sautel
Junior - Rosie Sokolove

Lee H. Park Award

Alice Meyung

No comments:

Post a Comment